2020 Government Agent’s Trophy Cricket tournament was held for the 12th time in a glorious manner at the Verugal Division on 29th of August 2020.

Verugal Divisional Secretariat hosted the Cricket Tournament and 12 cricket teams comprising staff of Trincomalee District Secretariat and Divisional Secretariats participated at this cricket tournament and matches were played in four playgrounds within the Verugal Division.

Trincomalee District Secretariat cricket team and the Seruwila Divisional Secretariat cricket team came for finals after having great matches with other teams.

The final match was played between the Trincomalee District Secretariat cricket team and the Seruwila Divisional Secretariat team at the main playground. At the end of 10 overs Trincomalee District Secretariat team scored 96 Runs.

The Seruwila cricket team were able to score 44 Runs for 05 wickets at the end of the 5th  over and the match was abandoned due to bad light. Both Trincomalee District Secretariat team and the Seruwila Divisional Secretariat team were given co-champions.

Sakthikumaran, who represented the Trincomalee District Secretariat team was awarded with the Man of the Series of this tournament and Chandana, the Captain of the Seruwila Divisional Secretariat Cricket team was awarded with Man of the Match. Best bowler of the tournament was Thuwarakan of Trincomalee District Secretariat cricket team.

Mr. J.S.D.M. Asanka Abeyawardana, the Government Agent of Trincomalee and all Staff officers as well as all the Divisional Secretaries in the District, fellow staff of Trincomalee District & Divisional Secretariats and a large public were present at the playground to watch the final match.

The Gomarankadawala Divisional Secretariat received the opportunity to host the 13th Government Agent’s Trophy in year 2021.